September 19, 2014 Shive Magazine 8

Luke James has given his fans a little treat making his self-titled album available for streaming on YouTube. The soulful project features the Rick Ross-assisted single “Options” and production from Salaam Remi, Kadis & Sean, The Alliance, Danja, and Luke himself. You can pre-order on iTunes now. Luke James Tracklisting 1. “Love XYZ” 2. “Dancing in the Dark” 3. “Don’t Do It” (Interlude) 4. “Trouble” 5. “The Run” 6. “Glass House” 7. “Exit Wounds” 8. “TimeX” (Interlude) 9. “Options” feat. Rick Ross 10. “Insane / Bombin’ Out” (Interlude) 11. “I Want You” 12. “Exposé” Deluxe Edition 13. “Make Love to Me” 14. “Options” (WolfJames Version) 15. “Stay With Me” 

Luke James Album Cover Art, And Tracklisting Revealed

August 29, 2014 Shive Magazine 4

\ Luke James has released the cover art for his self-titled debut dropping on September 23. Coming in standard and deluxe editions, the project features the singles “Options” and “Dancing in the Dark” and production by Danja, Salaam Remi, The Alliance, Kadis & Sean, and Luke himself.  Luke James will be available for iTunes pre-order on September 9. See tracklisting below.  Luke James Tracklisting 1. “Love XYZ” 2. “Dancing in the Dark” 3. “Don’t Do It” (Interlude) 4. “Trouble” 5. “The Run” 6. “Glass House” 7. “Exit Wounds” 8. “TimeX” (Interlude) 9. “Options” feat. Rick Ross 10. “Insane / Bombin’ Out” (Interlude) 11. “I Want You” 12. Read More


December 5, 2013 Shive Magazine 0

With opening for the second U.S. leg of Beyoncé’s “The Mrs. Carter Show World Tour,” and staring Black Nativity, Luke James still finds time to release his Sarah McColgan directed video for “Strawberry Vapors.” “I wanted to create a video that had a surreal quality with a slightly dark undertone,” said McColgan. “Luke is such a great inspiration to me, so I imagined a slightly esoteric visual that would really emphasize the dreamlike quality of the song.” The New Orleans native’s debut album is set to arrive sometime next year.


December 13, 2012 Shive Magazine 5

New Orleans singer-songwriter, Luke James closes out the year with the delivery of his latest mixtape Whispers in the Dark. This rising star has written for artists like Britney Spears and Chris Brown. He was nominated for Best R&B Performance for his single “I Want You” and featured in Beyonce’s “Run the World (Girls)” video. Preview below.

No Image

Shive’s Artist of the Week: Luke James

June 13, 2012 Shive Magazine 1

  Everyone wants to know, “who is Luke James?” James is singer/songwriter that has written for many famous artists such as Justin Bieber’s (“That Should Be Me”) and Britney Spears (“Kill The Lights”) and not to mention,co-writing Chris Brown’s “Crawl.”    James’ vocal approach was the focus on his debut album, “Made to Love” on Mercury/Island Def Jam via New Age Rock Star Records (NARS), the label ran by award-winning producer Danja (Mariah Carey, Keri Hilson) and long-time collaborator / mixing engineer Marcella Araica (Madonna, Pink, Timbaland).“This isn’t a fad for me,” declares James. “I’m willing to go wherever with this because music is everything Read More